Where Time Stands Still

Standard

So after our three hectic days in Kuta, we were more than ready to make our way to South Bali and slooooowww it down a bit. Especially after a terrifying (yet slightly hilarious) sleepless night on patrol for cockroaches. Unbeknownst to us, our room in Kuta was infested. Abby had the pleasure of waking up to one crawling up her arm and flung it across the room only to spot another scurrying up my pillow. No, I did not sleep for the rest of the night. A traumatic experience….we checked out the following morning.

A 45 minute cab ride South unveiled an entirely new world to us; the breathtaking, picturesque Bali we had envisioned. Bingin Beach, Pecatu which lies on the Southwestern part of the peninsula overlooking the Indian Ocean is where we have drifted off into a dream-like state for the past three days. And as soon as we arrived in this surfer’s pradise, time came to a sleepy pause. I have hardly even considered the time or date since we arrived here. A beautiful isolated coral beach surrounded by jagged limestone cliffs with bungalows staggering up the many winding steep rock staircases you must carefully descend to reach the ocean below. On the beach there are a few quaint warungs with incredible views of the beach to chill out and take a break from the sun and watch the surfers every now and then.

IMG_0015.JPG

IMG_0016.JPG

DSCF0086.JPG

IMG_0014.JPG

It’s funny because I’ve always considered myself a laid back person, yet sometimes it takes a bit of effort for me to just stop and truly relax. I’ve kept so busy and been on the go for such a long time now that it’s almost ingrained in my mind that if I’m not constantly moving, I’m not being productive and therefore wasting time. And being here in such a different place where time ceases to exist, I feel that mentality just fall away. There is no urgency here. And as for being productive, I think I’m beginning to realize that productivity is open to interpretation. There is great value to be found in rejuvenation, in taking the time to nourish and pamper the body and mind. I already feel a calm satisfaction and renewed creative energy flowing through me.

I’ve met some great people here too. It’s amazing how easy it is to meet like-minded interesting people when on the road. I feel that even for those that tend to be shy and keep to themselves, it almost would take more effort not to meet people. One minute you think you’ll be lounging on the beach all day and enjoying the solitude and the next minute you’re sharing a few Bintangs and stories with new friends. Although I absolutely love having a best friend by my side to share my experiences with, I can now understand how people take it upon themselves to travel alone. It’s not so scary after all. A bit of friendliness and common sense goes a long way, and I have seen far more kindness in this culture than intent to decieve.

We were so content on Bingin that we didn’t even venture to the other nearby beaches. Bingin had it all. I had some of the best fresh organic food at the local warungs catering to surfers and beach bums like ourselves. There is nothing quite like laying on an outdoor sofa overlooking the ocean with a freshly squeezed juice of pear, pineapple, kale, mint, and aloe vera. In one of our favorite little cafe’s, I ordered a pumpkin, cashew, tofu curry dish that was probably one of the best meals I’ve ever had. It’s the kind of beach town where you order a meal and it shows up an hour or more later. We also went to a BBQ on the beach where you choose your fish fresh right out of the cooler and they grill it up for you and serve it to you on beachfront tables at sunset. Yup, food with a face. it is so effortless just to kick back and simply embrace the pace of life here.

DSCF0112.JPG

DSCF0122.JPG

DSCF0126.JPG

The trek down to the beach was no joke. The steep rocky steps up the cliff go on for what feels like miles. We have definitely had our day’s workout just walking to and from the beach. It is pretty mindblowing to me to see the little old indonesian ladies carrying multiple cases of beer or giant bundles of sarongs and other gifts perched on their heads and gracefully walking up or down the massive rock steps again and again like it’s no task at all. A lot of travelers will pay these incredibly skilled women to carry their backpacks down the cliffs for them so that they can walk around and look for beach bungalow accommodation. These little huts are so off the grid that there is no way of contacting them or reserving a room beforehand. Your only option is take your chances and haul your luggage down to the beach to walk around and ask.

We have found Paradise. A pure and unassuming slice of heaven just floating along peacefully somewhere in time.

DSCF0098.JPG

Heading North to Ubud tomorrow afternoon ! And i’m definitely looking forward to a bit of yoga, temple exploration, and the famous Balinese (not to mention my first ever) spa and massage experience!

5 responses »

  1. Abby, It’s good to hear from you again. Nancy and I are very glad that everything during your “great adventure” is going so well. Not much new here. We had a big birthday party for Nancy in July. I will send some pictures later.
    Art

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I dig the blog Abby! Stoked to hear about your few days here and couldn’t agree more on how time slows down here. Your descriptions are wonderfully detailed and I feel as if I’m actually here while reading… oh wait. I’m here. It was great to meet you gals 🙂 Enjoy the rest of your trip and maybe I’ll see you in the Gilis!

    Like

  3. I am working my way through these beautiful tales of your experiences and i am reminded that a well written story is enough to transport the reader to that exact place in time. Keep the posts coming so i continue to live vicariously through you!

    Like

Leave a comment